Mark Newell Nominated as Next USGA President – Paul Brown as Member of USGA Executive Committee

Mark Newell, of McLean, Va., has been nominated to serve a one-year term as the 65th president of the United States Golf Association (USGA) by the USGA Nominating Committee. He would replace Diana Murphy, who is completing her second and final one-year term.    Mark has served as the Chairman of the Rules of Golf Committee since 2012.  He has been a tireless volunteer on behalf of the Game.

Paul G. Brown, of Brookeville, Md., has nearly four decades of experience in the banking industry, most recently serving as executive vice president of City First Bank, the only bank in the nation’s capital that provides financial services to underserved communities in the region. Brown has served as an official at 35 USGA championships – including seven U.S. Opens – and is a member of the Junior Amateur Championship Committee. Brown earned his undergraduate and master’s degrees from Bucknell University.  Paul is a Past President of the WMGA, serving in that role in 2009 and 2009.  He also serves as the Rules Chairman of the Washington Metropolitan GA.

Joining Mark and Paul are Kendra Graham – Winter Park, Fl., Nick Price – Hobe Sound, Fl., and Sharon Ritchey – Asheville, NC.

Full USGA Press Release ⇒ Here